Skagit Valley College logo

Champions of Diversity

The Champions of Diversity (COD) Awards Ceremony is designed to honor students, from grades 10 through 12, from Skagit, San Juan and Island County high schools who have contributed to diversity on their campuses and in their communities.

In addition to being honored by students, staff, faculty, and community members at the COD ceremony, nominated seniors are eligible for scholarships offered by Skagit Valley College, Central Washington University, Eastern Washington University, The Evergreen State College, University of Washington - Seattle, University of Washington - Bothell, University of Washington - Tacoma, Washington State University, Western Washington University and local businesses and organizations.

Join Us for the 2014 Champions of Diversity Awards Ceremony

Wednesday, December 3rd, 2014 – 7 p.m.
McIntyre Hall Performing Arts and Conference Center

Click here to RSVP


Between 1990 and 2000, Skagit Valley College offered full-tuition scholarships to ten multicultural students each year with funding from the SVC Foundation. High school students routinely did not apply for these funds. To encourage high school student participation, the Champions of Diversity Awards Ceremony was founded in 2000 by Anita Ordóñez, SVC; Rita Ordóñez, UW; and Rafael Gomez, WWU.

Each year, over 100 high school students are presented with a "Champions" award at this ceremony, and selected seniors receive scholarships from nine colleges/universities and other donors. Over 700 community and family members come together at this event to honor and recognize these young people.

This year marks Champions of Diversity's 15th Anniversary!