Skagit Valley College logo

Running Start

If you're an academically motivated high school junior or senior, you may be able to take college courses for free, earning credit for both high school and college!

students smiling for the camera while seated at an outside table

Get a Running Start on your College Education

Running Start is a collaborative, state supported program offered by SVC and area public high schools. The program allows qualified juniors and seniors to enroll in college courses for high school and college credit.

As a Running Start student, the classes you take help meet your high school graduation requirements and can count toward a college or university degree! You can get a head start on your college education, decrease the amount of time you spend in school, make a smoother transition to college,  and reduce educational costs for yourself and your family.


Running Start Info Nights

Interested in enrolling in Running Start but not sure how to get started? Want to learn more before enrolling? Then come to one of the upcoming Information Nights.

SVC – Mount Vernon Campus

  • Wednesday, January 20
    6 p.m. – MV Campus, Angst Hall 129 (A-129)
  • Wednesday, March 9
    6 p.m. – MV Campus, Lewis Hall 311 (L-311)
  • Thursday, April 14
    6 p.m. – MV Campus, Lewis Hall 311 (L-311)
  • Wednesday, May 4
    6 p.m. – MV Campus, Lewis Hall 311 (L-311)

Info Nights at Local High Schools

  • Tuesday, January 12
    5 p.m. – Sedro-Woolley High School
  • Thursday, February 4
    6:30 p.m. – Stanwood High School
  • Wednesday, February 24
    9:25-10 a.m. – Burlington-Edison High School
  • Thursday, February 25
    6 p.m. – Arlington High School
  • Monday, February 29
    6:30 p.m. – La Conner High School
  • Thursday, March 3
    5 p.m. – Concrete High School
  • Thursday, March 10
    5 p.m. – Sedro-Woolley High School
  • Wednesday, April 13
    6 p.m. – Mount Vernon High School
  • Wednesday, April 20
    9:25-10 a.m. – Burlington-Edison High School
  • Wednesday, April 27
    6:30 p.m. – Anacortes High School

Get information on Running Start at Skagit Valley College.

Need more information graphic.

Contact one of our Running Start counselors on the campus or center of your choice.

Click for counselor contact information

Learn more about the resources and services SVC offers to help your child achieve their academic potential.

Click for more information