Select Page

President and Board of Trustees

College Leadership and Governance

President and Board of Trustees

College Leadership and Governance

President and Board of Trustees

College Leadership and Governance
Fall Leaves on Mount Vernon Campus

2023-2024 Meeting Schedule


  • Oct. 10: Mount Vernon Campus
  • Nov. 14: Whidbey Island Campus
  • Dec. 12: Mount Vernon Campus


  • Feb. 13: Mount Vernon Campus
  • March 12: Whidbey Island Campus
  • May 14: Mount Vernon Campus
  • June 11: Mount Vernon Campus

Setting SVC’s Strategic Vision

Skagit Valley College is led by the President, Dr. Christopher Villa and is governed by a five-member Board of Trustees. Appointed by the Governor, each Board member serves a five-year term and must reside within the College’s district boundaries. The Board’s duties include setting the College’s strategic direction, establishing policy for the College, awarding tenure, and approving the operating budget.

Meet the Board of Trustees

Mariko K. Doerner, Board of Trustees, Skagit Valley College

Mariko K. Doerner, Chair, Mount Vernon

App. 2021

Profile: AAUCT, Skagit Valley College; BS Political Science, Western Washington University; Interdisciplinary Degree in Social Justice and Law, Fairhaven College; Juris Doctor, University of Idaho. Owner, Law Office of Mari K. Doerner. Presently serves as a board member for Summersun Montessori School; former vice president and member of the Youthnet Board of Skagit County. She has also served as president and vice president of the Skagit County Bar Association; Volunteer
Attorney for Community Action of Skagit County; and a former volunteer firefighter and EMT for Skagit County Fire District 8.

Ozell M. Jackson III, SVC Trustee

Ozell M. Jackson III, Vice-Chair, Oak Harbor

App. Oct. 1, 2021

Profile: Mortgage Loan Originator, Homebridge Financial Services. Attended the University of Washington. Former: Mortgage Loan Originator for HomeStreet Bank and The Legacy Group; Branch Manager, National City Mortgage; and Managed Direct Sales, Retail Mortgage Branch, Renovation/Construction Lending, Reverse Mortgage and Community Development for Wells Fargo Home Mortgage. Serves on the Board of Directors for Island County Economic Development Council and on the Board of the Opportunity Council, as well as its Executive and Finance Committees. Currently volunteers with the Island County Opportunity Council’s Financial Literacy and Renters Education (FLARE) program as well as with the Basic Food, Employment and Training Programs (BFET); provides support at the Opportunity Council’s Island County Service Center.

Carl Bruner, Board of Trustees, Skagit Valley College

Carl Bruner, Mount Vernon

App. 2024

Profile: Doctorate in Educational Leadership and Policy and a Master of Education in Education Psychology, both from the University of Washington, BA from the University of Texas. He currently is employed part-time by the Association of Educational Service Districts as a high school accreditation coach, and as an instructor for Western Washington University’s Woodring College of Education. He served as superintendent of the Mount Vernon School District for 16 years, and as a former assistant superintendent of Sedro-Woolley School District. He currently serves as a member of the Skagit Rotary Club and holds the position of board chair at the Brigid Collins Family Support Center. He also serves on the board of directors for the Boys & Girls Club of Skagit County. Served boards of several organizations, including the Washington Association of School Administrators, the Washington Schools Risk Management Pool (Executive Board), the Washington Association for Supervision & Curriculum Development, and the Mount Vernon Chamber of Commerce.

Flora Perez-Lucatero, Board of Trustees, Skagit Valley College 

Flora Perez-Lucatero, Mount Vernon

App. 2017

Profile: BA American Cultural Studies, Western Washington University; Founder and Executive Director of Children of the Valley After School Program. Prior experience includes Program Director of the College Assistance Program at Central Washington University. She has served as President of the West View Elementary Parent Teacher Association, Board member with the META Performing Arts Board, and Vice-President of the Mount Vernon-Conway Youth Baseball Board.

Megan Scott O’Bryan, Board of Trustees, Skagit Valley College

Megan Scott O’Bryan, Mount Vernon

App. 2015

Profile: BA Psychology, Western Washington University; AAUCT, Skagit Valley College; Real Estate Broker, Windermere Real Estate. For the past five years, served on the SVC Foundation Board of Governors, most recently as the Foundation’s Secretary. Served as President of the Downtown Mount Vernon Business Association, President of the Pacific Northwest Booksellers Association, and was a member of the Skagit Tulip Festival Board of Directors.