Select Page

News and Public Information

What's Trending

News & Public Information

What's Now | What's Trending

News & Public Information

What's Now | What's Trending
News & Public Information

SVC holds its 66th annual honors reception

Jul 11, 2023

Skagit Valley College celebrated district-wide student success at the college’s 66th annual Honors Reception at the Swinomish Lodge and Casino on June 8. More than $100,000 in scholarships were awarded at the ceremony.

SVC President Dr. Christopher Villa awarded 46 students with the President’s Medal for outstanding academic achievement. To qualify, each recipient must be a graduating sophomore, have all A’s or A- grades, and have attended SVC for at least three quarters. President’s Medals were presented to:

  • Melody Ammons
  • Lea Bahner
  • Erick Ballesteros
  • Jacob Barkhurst
  • Megan Barton
  • John Biggs
  • Rachel Blanton
  • Raina Cheney
  • Hannah Dutton
  • Debra Eastman
  • Stephanie Eerkes Keylock
  • Bethania Flores Torres
  • Jessica Frydenlund
  • Gary Gotz
  • Katherine Hagstrom
  • Keller Hixson
  • Galen Hoffman
  • Gregory Kaplan
  • Violet Keresey
  • Haeun Kim
  • Kaylee Knight
  • Jillian Knoll
  • Genevieve Kochel
  • James Kompare
  • Abigail Lanphear
  • Ziming Lei Lin
  • Nicolette Levai
  • Santiago Magallon
  • Yusuke Masuda
  • Shannon McAllister
  • Charles Montgomery IV
  • Kelly Numair
  • Henry Olson
  • Siara Page
  • Angelina Perez
  • Kevin Pfeil
  • Victoria Pilling
  • Jillian Prince
  • Mercedes Rodriguez
  • Abigail Roll
  • Lauren Rudge
  • Claire See
  • Ava Shellenberger
  • Caden Tanis
  • Hannah Tewalt
  • Kelly Weech

SVC President Chris Villa presenting President Medals.

Athletes of The Year

The Skagit Valley College Athletic Department announced the 2022-2023 male and female Athletes of the Year. This award is based on more than athletic performance as it recognizes academic success, community involvement, work ethic, commitment, dedication and many other qualities that are representative of what Cardinal Athletics stand for.

The female athlete of the year is SVC women’s soccer player Cassandra Mullin. The male athlete of the year is SVC baseball player Wyatt Hall.

Sydney S. McIntyre, Jr. SVC Memorial Scholarship

The McIntyre Scholarship recipients were: Megan Barton, Alan Santiago, Ziming Lei Lin, and Cesar Osornio Ramos.

This award provides tuition, room and board, and a book allowance for the junior and senior years of study at a Washington State public four-year college or university to one, or more, graduating SVC sophomores. During their time at SVC, these students have shown exceptional dedication to their academic studies, their fellow students, and to their community.

Charles H. Lewis Memorial Award

The prestigious Charles H. Lewis Memorial Award was presented to Cesar Osornio Ramos. Ramos was born and raised in Tijuana, Mexico and moved to the U.S. in 2019. He is the first in his family to pursue higher education and has inspired his brothers to follow his path. Ramos participated in the Latino Leadership Initiative, is president of the Latinos in STEM Club, was selected for the All-Washington Academic Team, and has been a leader in the classroom. Ramos will be transferring to the University of Washington.

The 1956 sophomore class of Skagit Valley Junior College established the annual Charles H. Lewis Memorial Award as a tribute to Lewis, the first Dean of the College and a revered faculty member at SVC for 28 years. The award is bestowed to a graduating sophomore who has been in attendance at SVC a minimum of one full school year and who best among their classmates exemplifies the qualities of Charles H. Lewis:

  • The student must be the possessor of high ethical and moral standards.
  • The student’s consistent daily effort in fulfilling assignments and consistent attendance in class must be evidenced as an indication of the ability to persevere in the attainment of a reputable scholastic standing.
  • The student must possess those qualities of good citizenship made manifest by a willingness to help and understand others and projection in daily contacts of a warm, personal feeling toward others.
  • The student must exhibit intellectual curiosity.
  • The student’s association with other people must demonstrate a genial regard for others.
  • The student must possess a subtle sense of humor.

The Yates Award

The 2022-2023 Yates Award recipient is Alba Medina. Medina is a member of Latinos in STEM, a biology research volunteer, and serves on the Equity and Social Justice committee. Medina balances her academics and campus involvement all while being a mother of three young children.

The Yates Award is a time-honored tradition that is given to an outstanding Whidbey Island Campus graduating student who shows excellence in academics, community service, and leadership skills.

The award is given in honor of Admiral Yates who was the commanding officer at NAS Whidbey in the mid to late 1950s. Admiral Yates was instrumental in establishing SVC on base for enlisted service personnel and their dependents.

Foundation Executive Director Brad Tuininga presenting a student with a Presidents Medal
Vice President of Student Services Claire Peinado posing with two PTK students.

Media Contact Info

Sofia Poulton, Communications and Social Media Manager
[email protected]